Why I Left Younique

** Everything written here is based upon my own personal experiences. All opinions are my own.**

What is done in the dark always finds its way to the light.

If you have never been in direct sales you may not understand this post. That’s okay. Just come back next week to read how Seth and I met. It is such a fun story.

Back to business. I started writing this post a few weeks ago with a specific intention. I wanted to document my first experience in the world of Direct Sales. What I loved, what I didn’t. What I wish I would have done better and the positive changes I can make going forward. I had decided to leave Younique months ago. LimeLight just happened to come along at the perfect time with better products at better prices. I actually vowed to never join another direct sales company after my experiences with Younique, but I couldn’t pass up the incredible opportunity to work closely with one of my best friends again. She was the one who inspired me to start writing this blog. She is my soul sister, my partner in crime. I feel very blessed to learn and grow in the LimeLight community with her. I am also incredibly grateful to get the opportunity to make a fresh start.

Please know I never had any intention to write THIS. I really thought I would let it go and try to move on….

But then I started to see friends around me that left Younique bullied and harassed. I saw grown women tear each other apart. I saw top leaders making hateful videos in their training groups vilifying other women who were just trying to make a positive change for themselves and their families. Lies started being spread to undermine their credibility. Can you even imagine that all of this chaos stemmed from a decision to leave a cosmetics company that no longer provided a positive experience? I’m pretty sure it is an okay thing to do. Things change for people all of the time and you have to learn to adapt.

Watching all the hatefulness was a wakeup call. The shame, lies, misunderstandings. Then the coverups. I have seen some of the most ugly things this last month on social media. I don’t know in any other profession where this type of bullying would be tolerated. And yet in the Younique community that I experienced it is pervasive. I honestly can’t wrap my mind around it. It is heartbreaking for me that people are scared. Scared to leave a direct sales company!! Does that even make sense? I have people scared of the backlash and of being bullied. The messages I get from women in this exact position make my heart hurt. But the sad fact is they aren’t wrong. Those of us that have been with the company for years and were high in the ranks or have a big following ARE experiencing those exact things. I personally know of 10 people right now who have quit, but are scared to tell anyone because of their rank within Younique.

Much of the shame game they played for those of us that left the company was that only ‘losers’ quit. They made Periscope videos about it. And this all came from some of the top leaders at the company. They began to engage in passive aggressive bullying in their posts on Facebook. It was painful to watch.

Younique did provide me with an outlet for a while. It gave me confidence. It made me happy. I moved up in the ranks really fast to the second highest status in the company. And then things changed. People changed. Products changed. Which meant I had to make a change. I no longer felt like I could stand behind the company or its products with honesty and integrity.

 “If you are physically able to work from your phone then there are no excuses. Even if you are in a crazy accident and lost all your fingers, you can still figure out how to voice chat. I’m tired of people telling me that, ‘Oh, I’m in the middle of a big move. Oh, I just had a baby. Oh, my dad just died. Oh, my marriage is ending.’ Those are personal. You can take a few days off. But separate your personal from your business. If you don’t work your business you are hurting your family and others. No excuses.”

This was a statement made by one of the top leaders in the company a month ago. I personally believe in leadership not dictatorship. If that is what it takes to be successful then I guess I don’t want success. I don’t ‘Bleed Purple’. My family comes first. My faith comes first. And I would never ask anyone to “bleed” for a company.

Do I regret joining Younique? No. Do I wish I had handled some of the challenges better? Of course. The company exploded overnight and it was really hard to keep up with the hyper growth. We had minimal training. In fact we had to build our own. But without Younique I would not have gained the skills necessary to move on and be successful in so many different areas of my life.

Younique’s Mission:

Uplift. Empower. Validate.

People crave validation so I understand why it would be part of the mission statement. But it is something that I never experienced there. I was ignored and dismissed by my leaders, by Corporate. When I had concerns I was told to just “be positive.” If you ever had a question or concern you could not ask it in the team groups without it getting deleted. I understand not letting negativity breed more negativity. But concerns need to be addressed and dealt with. Not shoved under the rug never to be discussed again.

The positive in all this is that through these struggles I have been Empowered to find my voice and speak my truths whether good or bad. I have learned what it means to feel truly Uplifted. And I understand the value of Validation in all areas of my life.

So many of you will have no idea what I am even talking about. Your experience with Younique will be no where near what mine and others was. That is okay! I am truly grateful that is the case for you.

In fact when I first joined Younique, I was over the moon excited! I was going through some really difficult and intense things at home and it was the perfect way to feel part of something bigger and it gave me chance to join a community of remarkable women.

I gained friends who (for the most part) loved and supported me. The 3D Fiber Mascara was AH-mazing! The skincare line of Awake Face Wash and Brilliant Moisturizer was flying off the shelves because they worked so well. These were three phenomenal products that I could sell in my sleep! It truly was the best.

***AT THE TIME***

First, they decided to get rid of Awake and Brilliant and replace them with other products. They added fragrance and other ingredients that would never be considered “naturally based” which for me is a big problem because I am sensitive to everything. We were never made aware that it was such a drastic change.

But let’s talk for a minute about the “Magic Mascara”.

The 3D Fiber Lash Mascara is what put Younique on the map. It is their flagship product and their #1 best seller. This summer the company decided to change the formula of our famous mascara by inventing an entirely new product that they called 3D+. They made it this “epic” announcement that said they had been working on this formula for 18 months and truly felt they had perfected it.

So I got my set of 3D+ and I had already heard mixed reviews. I figured it couldn’t be that bad though right? Well, wrong. It was horrible. And don’t assume I didn’t try to make it work. I went through 7 different sets of 3D+ all from different batches with the same result. It made my eyelashes hard and brittle and my eyes would get extremely irritated. I have VERY sensitive eyes which I why I gravitated toward Younique in the first place. They always advertised how natural the products were. I could actually wear mascara for the first time in 2 years with the regular 3D.

Yet Corporate ignored our complaints. Top leaders told us to keep quiet and stay positive. And then months later made excuses and said they were going to “work on” the formula. I personally am still getting complaints to this day. Anyway… Start doing your own research. The information is out there. They reformulated almost all of the products. Check the past ingredients against the current ones. And even after almost 6 months and “fixes” to the 3D+ I still cannot get it to work.

My mom has been my biggest supporter and cheerleader throughout my Younique career. She loves the products and so I had her try the 3D+ and she had the same experience as me. She also went through 4 different sets and had to fight with Customer Support through email to get new ones sent out to see if she could get better results. There was never an improvement and she went back to using drugstore mascara.

Some may or may not have noticed around August that I completely stopped working my business. I felt I could not ethically sell this product to my customers and friends and still sleep at night. But most importantly, I didn’t want anyone to join my Younique team under false pretenses about this “amazing” mascara and products, so I stopped offering this opportunity to anyone. I even discouraged it.

Since you are reading this I want you to be aware of something. There is risk in speaking out. Women that have left Younique have been threatened with lawsuits by the owners of the company so I have been careful with what I write. Literally everything I have written here can be backed up with screenshots or videos. I’m not naive. I currently have 2200 screenshots saved and cataloged documenting the events over the last two years. But especially over this past month with all the disturbing things that happened.

There are so many more truths I could share. I wish I could tell you everything. For those that have experiences similar to mine, you know what I shared is just the tip of the iceberg. I think you all would be really curious to know what happens after you leave the Younique world. Especially how you are treated by Corporate and those people still within in the Younique bubble. Those stories will come to light eventually. Truths don’t remain buried for long. I honestly hope everything gets worked out and somehow the culture at Younique will change. I have many amazing friends that I still love and support there. Please know I will always be here to cheer you on no matter where life takes us.

 

Wishing you Love and Light,

xoxo – Kristin

If you haven’t read my other blog posts that I wrote the past few years you should start. Don’t make judgments about me without taking a moment to understand the full story. I have laid my soul to bare on these pages without one regret. I cover sexual abuse and rape, traumatic brain injury. mental illness, divorce, struggling with motherhood. And who can forget … falling off a balcony and a few months later being run over by a car. This is my very first post talking about Younique so obviously I found it important enough to share next to those other difficult topics.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

24 thoughts on “Why I Left Younique

  1. When we got in contact months ago you were still with younique and talked about me joining. I never followed through because i tried to do my own research to find real reviews and it was impossible. Everything was positive but obviously forced with no unbiased reviews to be seen. Honestly, this is what scared me off because a company that squashes anything less than a glowing review is not to be trusted in my book. It’s good to see something real about the company and I’m sorry you have to worry about retaliation! Good luck with everything ♡

    Like

  2. Kristin,
    You ARE brave, strong, capable, honest, beautiful, caring, and inspirational woman. Whom I am so glad to have met.

    Best,
    Kimberley (aka Leslie Smith)

    Like

  3. Unfortunately you’re pretty spot on. I’m an exclusive purple presenter with Younique. My company is massive, over 4,000 strong, my sales numbers are huge, over $500k this month alone. I definitely do not feel validated most of the time. It makes me sad that the culture of the company has come to this. And I agree about the new formula. I’m still wearing original because I’m unable to wear the 3D+. It irritates my eyes and doesn’t have near the length of original. I am happy you have found happiness with LimeLight. I wish as presenters there wasn’t such a great divide and that our voices mattered like they used to. You’ll get no hate nor be bullied from me. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment! I was exclusive Purple as well and I never felt like I mattered. Up until I started using LimeLight, I was also wearing the original 3D and felt like a fraud. You wouldn’t believe how many people asked me and my team at Convention which formula we were wearing. Most all of us were still wearing the original, some were using the 3D+ fibers with the 3D gel. It was ridiculous.

      Our voices did use to matter. Remember when we could actually post and learn in the Elite and Exclusive group? They took that privilege away from us at the beginning of the year, which is when I started to feel the disconnect set in. But I worked as hard as I could trying to focus on my long term goals. I soon learned that they would never be able to be achieved with Younique though. And it wasn’t for lack of work ethic or trying.

      Like

  4. Thank You so much for your Honest review! I am Currently a White Status presenter, but after reading this I have decided I want to leave the company. I have been very Unsuccessful with Younique and Honesty I hate the mascara, it is always drying up after a few uses, I prefer the old formula to the new one. I have been blessed to be on a team of wonderful women who are very professional but I feel like this company has become completely over saturated with presenters pushing the products (everyone and there dog is selling it!). I am currently suspended since I dont have enough PRS, and I cant afford to be spending $125 every 3 months to stay active. I wont even get any commission until I get active again (which I won’t!) Honestly if I joined again it would be to get the kit and that is it. I love many of their products but I refuse to sell for a dishonest company ( I have read/seen other people tell why they left Younique and it is for the same reason). At least from what I have seen of Limelight at least they want you to succeed and you dont need a down line to hit fast start!! I am so glad I found your blog because if not I probably would have put tons of Money into this business with very little outcome. ( $2 for a tiny catalog, Are you kidding me!)
    Best of luck with Limelight!

    Like

  5. After only being with Younique for 4 months, I also had this eye opening experience. The hype of it died down to me and I realized that it was time to leave ALL the Facebook Younique groups that I belonged to (team page, other presenters personal pages, etc) It has been such a freeing experience now that I have been completely away from it all. I felt like I was being constantly bombarded by others selling and advertising it on Facebook 24-7. Enough was enough for me. Glad that you decided to leave as well. I’m sure there are many others like us. Thank you for sharing your experience.:)

    Like

  6. I’ve been a presenter for 3 months now, and I’ve noticed that anytime I have a concern or a question in a YOUNIQUE group, my questions never get posted. One particularly is bothering me and that’s the lip stain…I’ve had terrible results and I’ve been asking if this is a one time issue or not…I’m still waiting to have my question posted and nada…I beginning to feel that everything is just being covered up… And if you say anything that is considered negative omg they jump down your throats

    Like

  7. I’m going through exactly what u have said …. The bullying side , the bitchiness the nastiness backstabbing and lack of support

    Like

  8. I quit in March and I guess I had placed an order in mid March. The products have trickled in and I posted ordered this March 9th just got it today May 10th then I hash tagged #bullshitbackorder #buiiled this is why I quit this cult. Ever since I quit I have received so many hate PM’s and I just block them today I got a slew of them. People I had blocked made other accounts. I too could not longer sell “organic” “natural” basically drugstore quality makeup at department store prices 15 wipes for $30 are you kidding me. Not only are they ripping people
    off and lying that their products are natural, but the quality has gone down and it’s like a cult, if you leave you will be harassed! I was harassed so bad a publicly that I had to take legal action against the person (because of course Youique will tell you what to do but won’t get in the middle of anything) she was defaming me publicly in my professional
    life I am medical aesthetician which means I am an RN and a licensed aesthetician. It was all slander and defaming me and it was hurting my career. I was just doing this on the side. Luckily I did get the gag order granted. It was awful leaving Younique!!

    Like

    • I’m having a conversation regarding talking to the Younique Foundation…. I have no idea where you are”
      Oh I misunderstood…-my response
      I understand your fantasy world… and there is nothing wrong with it except when it prevents you from living in your real world and addressing the things you need to deal with.
      It seems like you are afraid to contact the Younique Foundation…”.

      but I really do have an appointment at Martin’s Point.-my response

      What does that have to do with the Younique Foundation?”

      It is where I am going to have a complete physical and blood work done so I can be assessed whether I need urgent care or hospitalization.-my response

      Ok great…. why would that prevent you from contacting the Younique Foundation in the mean time? You could be on a list for a year… at least get on the list.”

      This is the exchange that I just had. I felt that I was taken advantage of a time when I was recovering from an eating disorder relapse. I feel like I had been manipulated. Passive aggressive bullying. I had no complaint with the makeup- I simply do not have the sales killer instinct, I am however very bright and creative. Thank you for listening.

      Like

    • and the rosewater they sell at $35 can be bought for $3.99 (food quality) in grocery stores- you get 10 ounces instead of 3 or 4.

      Like

  9. I am currently with Younique, brand new, started selling Mid March and while I am not seeing any harassment, I keep myself from opening my mouth on facebook pages to avoid it, I too feel like a fraud. I do like some of their products. But I tell you what really really bothers me is that I didn’t do any research before I bought my first product and then joined a couple months later. I kept hearing cruelty free so I was happy. I have been wanting to eventually change my makeup and skincare to all cruelty-free. I didn’t bother to check to see if they really were cruelty-free. All the presenters were saying the company is. Well, I finally checked and they are not 100% cruelty-free. All the money I spent in switching over my makeup to find out they aren’t on any cruelty-free lists. My stupidity for being won over by my charismatic presenter lol. I emailed them. I was told that while they do not test their products on animals they do not know if the ingredients in their products are or are not tested. The presenters actually should not be saying the company is cruelty-free. The company has no idea when they will do what they need to do to get on the list. Just the other day a convo came up in a fb group about Younique ingredients and someone got brave and was telling people that Younique is no different than products like MAC, all the ingredients are toxic. I was all into reading it and was going to be brave with her and post about the cruelty-free but I got busy. Came back to it maybe 30 minutes later and post gone. lol Go figure. Not to mention I also looked up and there are over 400,000 Younique presenters!! Everyone I know knows someone else that is selling too. My sponsor keeps telling me to get more friends to host online parties and I will get people from there…yeah, no. I did a few parties..most dropped out of the parties before they even began and the rest wouldn’t even look at the posts. It’s just too flooded! The training videos they tell you to post every day 3 times a day. Post post post! My mother is a professional blogger. She spent some time finding research articles about the best times to post to make sure your post is being read. It isn’t every day. And she is following what the research told her and it is working for her.

    The 3d+ mascara…not a fan. I do not have time in the morning for all the steps either. I do love the foundation and primer. But…I’m rethinking staying with them. Someone above said they were suspended for not selling the $125 in 3 months. I’m there with you. I have $70 sold and that’s all me! They say keep your half offs to give away to hostesses because it hurts your royalties. What royalties? I can’t get them until they build up to $50. And its all my money anyways since I’m the only one that bought anything the past 2 months. And why do we HAVE to sell $125 in 3 months to keep active? There is just too many people selling this already that it’s hard to compete. My sponsor is blue status. She has 1700 people in her VIP group. I do not see her making a lot of sales and that’s with 1700 people! Even when she was doing flash sales its always the same 5 people or so that will buy. Ugh.

    Good for you for speaking out!!! I had thought about selling Avon before Younique because I used Avon for years. But I decided against it. How many presenters does Limelight have? I was watching a youtube video and I believe she said there were only 1400 at the time she made the video.

    Like

  10. You are so dead on. I left Younique 2 weeks ago and I feel so free. I completely agree with the bitchiness and nastiness coming from the top leaders ( purple and black). Everything you said is absolutely true, the energy is very toxic at times even when they try to cover up. The truth will always come to light eventually. I have gained experience being in direct sales and I had a downline of 100 women when i left. I take the experience with me and I am very careful before jumping to a new company because i don’t want my experience to be repeated again. Thank you for posting. It’s good to know that I am not alone and it’s not all in my head LOL

    Like

  11. Thank you so much for this post!!! I’ve been with Younique since August of 2015, and I literally can’t take it anymore. I found your post today by Googling “How to resign from Younique”. I literally can’t find the info anywhere, but gained the strength needed to follow through with my resignation from reading this post. I am a professional makeup artist (yes, I’m actually certified and have a registered business license) and was informed this morning by my upline that I’m not allowed to use or promote any other cosmetic lines, whether DS or not, in my MUA business. And to top it off, I’m to take down my website for my MUA business that has absolutely nothing to do with Younique. Sorry, not happening. Plus, it’s gotten quite embarrassing associating myself with a company who has droves of presenters hounding all of social media with ridiculous sales pitches. So, can you please give me some pointers on resigning? Thank you!!!

    Like

  12. I have recently left Younique! I joined Sept 6, 2013. After all of this time, I could not take it any longer! I was bullied when I was in a wreck, lost 3 ppl in my family to death and my sister had a major stroke all in Feb. My upline was only supportive to me when I made her money. When I quit, I did it quietly and never spoke a harsh word against the company Yet, people there continue to bully and harass me. I wish I had the nerve to go public with everything, but I started with a company that Younique is terrified of. They are going after anyone who leaves Y to go to the new company. It is silly and childish. I mean, the motto they spout is BS! They will only uplift, empower and validate those who do what they are told. There is zero training and the products are awful! Y is a cult. If you are there…RUN! If you are researching…RUN! IF you think about buying the crap they sell…RUN! There is so much cover up going on in that company it is unreal. I feel for my friends who are still drinking the koolaid!
    Thank you for this post!

    Like

  13. So maybe if you want to leave just quit paying and they will eventually kick you to the curb. I’ve been a presenter for about a month. There is no formal training, they call training a bunch of you tube videos with people saying the same things over and over. I do like the makeup but at first they all looked like Stepford Wives to me. And the PMing back and forth reminds me of high school. When I ask a question, most of the time it is ignored. But I’m being pushed to sell. I had pretty much decided to just leave it at I’ll buy what I need and leave it at that.

    Like

  14. I’m a Younique presenter almost yellow status I can’t get anyone to join me because of so many others who are presenters but I advertised on a page for mums who work with MLM companies and I am also working with other companies such as Herbalife and another presenter snitched on me and I got a letter from Younique saying I chose to work with Younique or I hand in proof of my resignation letters to the other companies in order to work with Younique like ok good what the hell? Everyone else can work more then one job like what’s the big deal? Younique claim its competition I can’t how since Herbalife sell weight loss products? So now I have to chose I have been with Herbalife for 6 years never had problems . Presenters are nasty mean and snitches I had to buy a starter pack 3 times because my account always became inactive what a joke I’m basically going broke I have to buy things myself in order to stay active because nobody will buy anything or join Younique

    Like

  15. Is there a way to quit Younique or do you just stop selling it? Literally just a few months after beginning I have stopped entirely. The products are shit, pardon my French, and have affected my skin horribly. Liquid Touch is supposed to be water based but there is a layer of oil sitting right on top of the liquid as the powdery substance sits at the top. there is no “activation” its mixing foundation, powder, and oil. Me and my friend have gotten seriously bad acne from the foundation! The mascara has made my eyelashes brittle and I swear it looks like they have split ends if that’s even possible. Me and my friend were the only ones to order from me even when I worked my ass off, yet there was EVERYBODY else posting about how they’ve only been in the company for a month or two and already have 6 people under them and all have qualified. I would comment begging for help and I would get the same response everytime. “Post more. Make more videos. Smile more. If youre not smiling in all of your pictures youre doing everything wrong.” And I noticed something. There were NO bad remarks about ANY of the products on the facebook page under my upline. As soon as somebody would mention they had a bad reaction from their customer, our upline followed by more girls would comment “They must be doing something wrong”. I posted about my bad experience and did I get a message from my upline trying to help me? no. did I get a comment about it? no. it was ignored. I’m so tempted to post one long post about my horrid experience and see their reactions. I’m wondering how many people in the same group have had the same experience but are too afraid to say something bad about it.

    Were essentially working our asses off to sell over priced makeup that is of the lowest quality. I used to like the eyeshadows when I first got in the company until I realized theyre not pigmented at all. If I’m going to spend nearly $50 on one product its going to be on a well known professional company.

    Its sad that if you don’t have a shit ton of people under you selling for you you don’t make any money. I spent so much money on this when I never should have. I only joined to help my friend who was in a hard spot. Even she has slowed down her selling. Its sad. So sad.

    Like

  16. This is, unfortunately, so spot on. I could have written it myself because it’s basically my story exactly. The culture of a company is almost more important than the products and the culture at Younique stinks. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors!

    Like

Leave a comment